NATA Full Form: National Aptitude Test in Architecture

published on
Jul 2, 2024
4 Min REad
Table of Content

Are you ready to embark on an exciting journey in the world of architecture and design? Choosing a career path in these fields can be both creatively fulfilling and financially rewarding. But where do you begin? That's where NATA comes into play.

NATA, the National Aptitude Test in Architecture, is your gateway to unlocking a successful career in architecture and design. In this article, we'll explore the full form of NATA, its importance, eligibility criteria, exam pattern, application process, and more. So get ready to dive deep into this fascinating field and discover the opportunities that await you.


What is NATA Full Form?

The full form of NATA is the National Aptitude Test in Architecture. It is a national-level examination conducted by the Council of Architecture (COA). This exam serves as a gateway for aspiring architects to pursue a successful career in the field of architecture.

NATA assesses candidates' aptitude for architectural studies, testing their drawing and observation skills, aesthetic sensitivity, critical thinking ability, and sense of proportion and scale.

By appearing for NATA, you can showcase your creative and analytical capabilities, which are essential for excelling in the field of architecture and design.


Importance of the NATA Exam

  • Gateway to reputed architecture colleges: Clearing the NATA exam opens doors to prestigious architectural institutions across India. Institutions like SPA Delhi, CEPT University Ahmedabad, Sir JJ College of Architecture Mumbai, and many others consider NATA scores for admission into their undergraduate programs. These institutions have a strong reputation for providing quality education and nurturing talented architects.
  • Validity and recognition: NATA scores are valid for two years from the date of the examination. This flexibility allows you to pursue higher education or gain work experience before joining an architectural institution for further studies. The recognition of NATA by various institutions across the country ensures that your scores are widely accepted.
  • Career prospects after qualifying NATA: After qualifying NATA, you can explore various career opportunities as an architect, urban planner, interior designer, landscape architect, or even as a consultant in sustainable design practices. The demand for skilled architects is growing rapidly due to increasing infrastructure development projects and an emphasis on sustainable design principles.
  • Entrepreneurship possibilities: NATA provides a solid foundation for those interested in starting their own architectural firms or consultancy services. With the right skills and knowledge gained through NATA, you can establish your presence in the industry and work on diverse projects, ranging from residential buildings to commercial complexes.

Eligibility Criteria for NATA

  • To be eligible for the NATA exam, you need to have completed 10+2 with mathematics as a compulsory subject.
  • Additionally, you should have secured a minimum aggregate score of 50% in your 10+2 examinations.
  • There is no age limit for appearing in the NATA exam.
  • However, it is important to note that different colleges may have their own specific eligibility criteria for admissions, which could include additional requirements like PCM (Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics) subjects in 10+2 or a minimum NATA score cutoff. Reserved category candidates may also have a relaxation in terms of qualifying marks.

NATA Exam Pattern

The NATA exam consists of two parts: Part A and Part B. Part A is conducted online, while Part B is a drawing test that needs to be done on paper.

Part A

  • The duration of Part A is 90 minutes.
  • It consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) related to mathematics and general aptitude.
  • The mathematics section evaluates your numerical ability and mathematical reasoning skills.
  • The general aptitude section assesses logical reasoning and perceptual ability.

Part B

  • The drawing test has a duration of 90 minutes.
  • It measures your visualisation and sketching abilities.
  • You will be required to create drawings based on given topics or scenarios.
  • This section evaluates your creativity, aesthetics, and spatial understanding.

It's important to note that both Part A and Part B are equally weighted, with each carrying a maximum of 200 marks. To succeed in the NATA exam, it is crucial to develop proficiency in all sections, as they collectively determine your overall score.


Application Process for NATA

To apply for the NATA exam, you need to follow a step-by-step process:

  • Registration: Visit the official NATA website during the registration period and create an account by providing the required details.
  • Fill out the application form: Fill in personal information, educational qualifications, and other necessary details accurately.
  • Upload documents: Upload scanned copies of your recent photograph, signature, and any other required documents as specified in the application form.
  • Payment of fees: Pay the application fee online through the available payment methods on the website.
  • Admit card download: Once your application is successfully submitted and processed, you can download your admit card from the official website within the specified dates.

Ensure that you complete each step before the deadlines mentioned on the official website to avoid any last-minute complications. Take note of important dates related to registration, examination, and result announcements to stay organised throughout the process.


Opening Doors to Your Architectural Journey

In conclusion, NATA, or the National Aptitude Test in Architecture, serves as a gateway to a successful career in architecture and design. By clearing NATA, you unlock opportunities to study at prestigious architectural institutions across India and establish yourself as an architect, urban planner, interior designer, or even an entrepreneur. With the flexibility of NATA scores being valid for two years, you can choose to pursue higher education or gain work experience before embarking on your architectural journey.

To tap into the growing opportunities in these fields and enhance your skills further, consider exploring upskilling or reskilling certifications in architecture. WiZR is here to guide you with expert career-focused guidance on such programmes.



1. Is NATA mandatory for a career in architecture?

Yes, most architecture colleges in India require candidates to appear for the NATA exam as it assesses their aptitude for architectural studies.

2. How long should I prepare for the NATA exam?

The preparation time varies from person to person. However, it is recommended to start preparing at least 6–12 months in advance to thoroughly cover all sections of the exam.

3. What are some upskilling certifications in architecture?

Some popular upskilling certifications in architecture include BIM (Building Information Modelling), AutoCAD, Revit Architecture, and Green Building Certification programmes like LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design).

4. What are some reskilling certifications in architecture?

Reskilling certifications help professionals transition into new areas within the field of architecture. Some examples include urban planning certification programmes and interior design specialisation courses.

5. Is coaching necessary to crack the NATA exam?

While coaching is not mandatory, it can provide valuable guidance and strategies to crack the NATA exam. Self-study, combined with practice tests and previous years' question papers, can also be effective in preparing for the exam.

Key takeaways

Related articles

Explore Courses

Explore more topics